la continuación en una serie de fotos

by Jacqui

We arrived at the Medellin bus terminal on Saturday, home from Rio Claro, and right away took another bus to Santa Fe, Antioquia, a pueblo an hour (mas o menos) west of Medellin to meet some friends.  We added two to the group of seven, our ages ranging from 26 to 79.  We ate fried food on sticks in the middle of the main plaza.  With dropped jaws, we watched a group of gorgeously chiseled men and women twist, turn, and shake their bodies at mind-bending angles to traditional, coastal beats at a tempo I didn’t think was humanly possible.  We shared a carton of rum.  And we spent the better part of Sunday lounged around the hotel pool.  Sunday had all the makings of a Puff Daddy (P Diddy?)  music video.  Except for the hotel’s music of choice, which ranged from Barry White to Rod Stewart, and besides our games of choice, which ranged from sudoku to ping-pong…..


For a day, we felt like divas.  Divas who read the local pueblo paper with a vigor usually reserved for things like zip lining, or salsa dancing, or, for some I suppose, standing as extras in cheesy hip hop videos….

If you make it to Colombia and you’ve got time to visit Santa Fe Antioquia, do it.  And I think I can speak for all of us when I say it is recommended to stay in Hotel Mariscal Robledo (per person, breakfast and lunch included, we paid around $55/night.  Did I mention beers were $2?).

I smell coffee.  Time for an afternoon pick-me-up.  Have a really, really wonderful weekend, all.

