time to get back to it

by Jacqui

I’ve got food on my brain even more often than usual these days. Besides a batch of stewed prunesfrench fried onions to top a green bean casserole (twice), strawberry milk, and my new favorite pumpkin and lentil soup, I haven’t done much cooking in the past three months. I’m not exactly sure why. For one, our entire apartment loves to eat. We’re a group of three girls and one guy, and the guy might possibly love to feed people more than he loves to eat. Paolo is excellent in the kitchen. He didn’t bring a winter coat with him from Canada, but he did lug along three heavy Turkish cookbooks. He rarely cooks exactly from recipes and instead relies mostly on his experience living in Istanbul and instincts gained from growing up with Italian and Argentine parents who also love to cook. I’ve learned some useful techniques from him in a short amount of time, like how to put together a proper Turkish breakfast of feta, olives, crusty bread, and eggs with tomatoes, peppers, and a pinch of aleppo pepper. I could eat breakfast like that seven days a week.

If I had the time, I’d hole up in the kitchen and stay there until I’d worked my way through this list of recipes, which tells me I’m ready to get back to it. I’d love to hear what you’re cooking and eating over the holidays, too.

Cranberry Soup

Spiced Cherry Maple Carrots

Persian Pomegranate Soup

Spiced Persimmon Punch

Goat Cheese and Basil-Stuffed Filo Parcels

Roasted Winter Squash Salad

Popover Pudding with Irish Bacon

Broiled Apples and Pears with Rosemary

P.S.  the complications of learning English

