31st of May

by Jacqui

A trip outside of Seoul is easy enough to arrange, but I meet a lot of people who don’t take the opportunity for all that it’s worth. And I get it. There is more than enough within the city limits to keep us stimulated – history, music, great food, shopping, art, fitness. By the time the weekend hits, it feels easier to seek something inside of the city than take the effort to plan a few days away. But without the occasional escape to someplace calmer, even the most well-oiled of urbanites are bound to feel like caged birds with working wings.

As I round the final stretch of my tenure in Korea, I’ve decided to reign in the somewhat scattered topics of this project to one main: travel within this gorgeous, bewildering, layered country. At least for the next couple of months. It is my genuine hope that this specific effort will do two things: encourage me to travel more and, in doing so, encourage me to write much more. I’ve got May’s trip under my belt, and I’m looking forward to putting something up about it soon.

Also, today is my grandmother’s birthday. She would have been 91! Can you imagine living 90 years? Blows my mind. She reminds me of the importance of roots, of a regular return to origin, even through constant motion. The photo above looks a lot like a koru, and a koru symbolizes just that.

Thanks, always, for reading. You make this whole scary process of writing so, so, so much better.

-j

